Picture
Students grew curious of this binary clock.
A student approached me last week about a clock he had seen online, a binary clock (Link redirects to ThinkGeek where it was originally discovered) and was curious about how it could be read.

I was able to fall back on a worksheet I created my first year of teaching, meant to be sort of a reading assignment (because at that time, our building was focusing on reading comprehension among our students). Granted, I definitely need to edit this lesson and include some better images and examples, as well as expanding upon the idea of how to "carry digits" when working in a base-2 system.

Most of the emphasis on the worksheet is placed on how to convert from base-2 (binary) to base-10 (decimal) and vice versa though.

Picture
My new, edited visual aid to convert from base-2 to base-10.
I've modified the table/chart from my worksheet mentioned earlier to the one at left. Our students attended Math Day at Emporia State University (my alma mater) on Ocotber 31, and one of the questions during the competition was:

"Write 2012 in binary form."

Luckily, my students had access to a TI-Nspire CX CAS which has a quick function to allow them to make the conversion, but they came away from the contest wanting to know more about how binary numbers work and if other similar systems exist.

Another crowning achievement through all this discussion is that students understand the t-shirt design I have posted at the back of my classroom that says "There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary and those who don't."

--Keltner--

Marc
8/14/2013 09:58:48 am

No hexadecimal?

Reply
1/17/2016 04:26:59 am

I definitely need to edit this lesson and include some better images and examples, as well as expanding upon the idea of how to "carry digits" when working in a base-2 system.

Reply



Leave a Reply.