Picture
Slope-R Mario on the scene!
When I tried last year to demonstrate slope using GPS receivers, I ran into issues: poor signal, dead batteries, not enough receivers for a BIG class of students, among others.

This year, I tried to do something over the top. The formula that students are familiar with for slope uses m to represent the value of the slope, or rate of change, for the function or relation.

When I looked at the four types of slopes I would be teaching (positive, negative, zero, and undefined slopes), I mashed together examples of their graphs to create a peculiar image, which I later twisted into a logo for a character who visited class.

I managed to make a logo VERY similar to the one on Super Mario's hat in the Nintendo game series!

Picture
Slope-R Mario's logo
AND it demonstrated the types of slope I was going to demonstrate in class (with labels placed adjacent to the appropriate line) to help illustrate it to students!

I'm not able to hold a candle to Matt Vaudrey's Mullet Lesson, but hoping to have fun trying. He made a much more compelling case for ratios than I think I was able to do.

Now, all I needed was a costume to seal the deal. Being so near to Halloween time, I was able to score a Super Mario hat from a neighboring teacher's son, some overalls from the husband of our daycare provider (also a tribute to my high school math teacher, Vern, the focus of this earlier blog post), a mean mustache from the video-editing teacher in my building, and print off a couple of logo medallions to complete my transformation into Slope-R Mario status!

Picture
The evolution of my Slope-R Mario idea, coming to life!
I'm attaching screenshots of the notes I used with this lesson. My trademark stick-figure diagrams for types of slope are a favorite from year to year among my students. Simple but effective. 

I was also able to insert a collection of images with Super Mario that showed him travelling along paths that incorporated the different examples of slope we were discussing.

Check them out below.
So, a good time was had by all. Students got to make fun of me for dressing up so goofily (if that's not a word, it should be and I should trademark it like Anthony Davis trademarked "Fear the Brow" prior to being drafted in the NBA).

One side-effect of this lesson I didn't anticipate was seeing students correct their peers when someone interjected a "Mr. Keltner, you're tall and skinny, so you should have dressed up like Luigi!"

A bystander was quick to point out "He dressed like Mario because of the 'M' on the logo, since we're doing slope today. It was cool how he made the logo to show the different slopes, right?"

The first student agreed, but then quickly retorted "So does this mean when we do parallel and perpendicular lines, THEN you'll dress like Luigi?"

Stay tuned and find out. Slope-R Mario, course clear (that's a Nintendo reference).

--Keltner--
9/22/2012 06:07:34 am

Excellent! Very well done and totally steal-able. I especially like the "it takes ZERO effort" slide.

You should check out <a href="http://mrpiccmath.weebly.com/">Mr. Piccini's blog</a>, source of several sweet lessons and ideas.

Quite well done, Mr. K!

Reply
Amanda Simpson
10/17/2012 08:17:36 am

Very nicely done, Mr.K! Love it. Could have definitely used Slop-R Mario about seven years ago ;)

Teacher of the year is well deserved.

Reply
Laura
11/21/2012 02:33:22 am

LOVE IT!
Your KSTOY 2013 Team Member!
Laura, :)

Reply
8/1/2013 08:53:51 pm

Now that is a wonderful way to teach students about slope m to represent the value of the slope, or rate of change, for the function or relation. Thanks a lot for the post. I would like to try the same idea.

Reply
1/16/2018 09:42:10 pm

I know only Mario game, this is some what different among students to teach about Slope R.

Reply



Leave a Reply.